Chronology 1871-1880



Many extra ordinary things have happened
since the colony of South Australia was proclaimed on 19 February 1836.
This section will try to highlight some of them.

Father Leon Rogalski, Australia's first Polish priest, arrived at Hill River.
John Howard Angas bought Wirrealpa Station.
Anna Moir Doig died at Burra.
Croation migrant Troyano Darveniza designed a label for his wine. It became Australia's Coat of Arms in 1901.
South Australian Cricket Association formed.
Overland Telegraph completed.
John Baker died at Morialta on 18 May.
George Long overseer at Umberatana.
Cattle station established at Innamincka.
W.D. Kekwick died at Nuccaleena, buried at Blinman.
David Unaipon born at Point McLeay Mission (Raukkan).
A schoolmaster at Mount Gambier committed for trial for indecently assaulting some children attending his school.
Port Pirie surveyed.
John Shaw Neilson, farmer and poet, born in Penola.
Hope Valley Reservoir commissioned
Smelters completed at Bolla Bollana.
Central Board of Health established.
First official cricket match played at the Adelaide oval.
Eight hour working day adopted in South Australia.
Elizabeth Woolcock from Moonta, first and only woman to be hanged in South Australia.
John Gill, Head Turnkey at Adelaide Gaol died.
Model School in Grote Street established.
Ardrossan surveyed and proclaimed.
Gold discovered at Yudanamutana.
Adelaide University founded.
Yett Soo War Way Lee, a Chinese merchant arrived in Adelaide and established a prosperous business.
Typhoid fever at Moonta, Kadina and Wallaroo.
22 October, two German missionaries leave Hahndorf for Central Australia.
24 January, Gothenburg destroyed, over 100 passengers died.
Compulsory schooling introduced with the passing of the Education Act.
First Forestry Board established.
Kate Cocks born, first policewoman in South Australia and the British Empire.
Submarine cable laid between Normanville and Kingcote, Kangaroo Island.
Clarence Michael James Dennis born at Auburn on 7 September.
First Teachers' Training school opened.
Ardrossan, Port Victoria and Port Turton start building their own jetty.
Railway from Port Augusta to Government Gums authorised.
Cadnia East surveyed.
Stump-Jump plough invented.
Adelaide Children's Hospital opened.
Unions legalised, first in Australia.
Telegraph communications with New Zealand established.
Post Offices established at Cowarie and Manuwaukaninna.
Beltana Racing Club formed.
Adelaide Bridge completed.
Overland Telegraph to Eucla completed.
Steamer Lady Diana built at Port Adelaide.
Largest pipe organ in the colony installed in the Adelaide Townhall.
Hans Heysen born in Hamburg, Germany.
Hermannsburg Mission established by Lutherans on the Finke River.
Catherine Helen Spence first woman to be appointed to a School Board of Advice.
Kapunda copper mine closed.
Oswald Brown South Australia's first hydraulic engineer.
Horse tramway between North Adelaide and Kensington commenced, first in Australia.
William Henry Willshire joins SA Police.
Population exceeded 250,000.
The South Australian Education Department established.
Towns of Hammond, Cradock, Gordon, Carrieton, Amyton and Johnburgh surveyed.
Sir William Jervois, Governor of South Australia, laid foundation stone for the Jervois building on 7 November.
The initial foundations were laid in 1866.
First bridge across the Murray opened at Murray Bridge.
Advanced School for girls established in Franklin Street.
Diamonds discovered at Echunga.
Edward Hamilton appointed Protector of Aborigines.
Railway reached Hawker.
Salvation Army established in Adelaide, first in Australia.
Reverend John Flynn born, Founder of the Royal Flying Doctor Service.


If you would like to find out more,
please go to HOME PAGE for more information.
Thank you for visiting Flinders Ranges Research,
We hope you enjoy your stay and find the information useful.
This site has been designed and is maintained by FRR.